Alfa Pages Forum Index Alfa Pages
A forum for help with the Alfasud And Alfa 33

best fuel for my 1985 33 1.5

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Alfa Pages Forum Index -> Australia & New Zealand
View previous topic :: View next topic  
richard brenchley
Alfa Arna

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 5:03 am    Post subject: best fuel for my 1985 33 1.5 Reply with quote

Hi -I'm new to Alfas, just bought a late 1985 33 (1.5 dual carb). I'm not too tech-literate either, so forgive me any naivities please!

What's the best fuel for my (fantastic) 'new' car? I don't think it has any unleaded fuel mods, so should I be using an additive, or what octane unleaded is OK?

what about higher octane fuel with blended ethanol -is this safe or a worry?

any help very gratefully received.....

Richard
Scott Sander
Alfa 33

PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2006 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Richard

Here is what Alfa Romeo Australia says about ethanol fuels
http://www.alfaromeo.com.au/default.asp?action=article&ID=622

Here is an article from the RACQ about pre 1986 vehicles
http://www.racq.com.au/cps/rde/xchg/racq_cms_production/hs.xsl/Motoring_Maint_Repairs_Foun_factsheet_unleaded_petrol_ENA_HTML.htm

And more specifically
http://www.alfa-pages.co.uk/unleaded.htm

Hope that helps
Chris Notsis
Alfasud

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:01 am    Post subject: Suitable Fuel Reply with quote

Hi Richard,

It has been a LONG while since I last visited this site. No longer having a 33 I guess has been one reason.

Your late 85 model would be a straight leaded version and unlikely to have been converted to ULP - you'd know from the fuel inlet port.

Ethanol (10%) is not recommended for a lot of older leaded cars, the 85 33s included.