Alfa Pages Forum Index Alfa Pages
A forum for help with the Alfasud And Alfa 33

P4 rough take off.

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Alfa Pages Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Biaggio
Alfa Arna

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 8:18 am    Post subject: P4 rough take off. Reply with quote

Hi all,
I got a p4 not long ago and am quite happy with it although it doesn't seem to have the performance that i read about in this forum. One thing that is really bugging me is the stutter i get when i take off. i've tried adjusting the way i accelerate and so on but i'm struggling to get rid of it. I've only manage to dampen it by revving the crap out of it on take off.
prior to getting this p4 i had been driving a '91 16v for three years and managed to adjust to have a smooth take off.
Is it just my driving?? (i hope not) Shocked
Is the p4 that different to the regular 16v? Surprised
could there be some sort of problem with the engine? Sad
And finally, how come all you guys in Europe seem to get heaps better performance out of your 16v than i've experienced here in Australia? Confused

Hope someone can help me out... Very Happy
Matt Stolton
Alfa Sprint

PostPosted: Tue Jun 08, 2004 9:17 am    Post subject: Many little things... Reply with quote

Firstly, it could be down to air temperature.

Certainly in the UK, it is normal for ambient temperature to be cool, meaning effectively more air in the inlet charge, as it is denser. This directly assists power delivery. Also, as it is colder Air Con is less common, whereas, I presume it to be nearly standard in Oz. Obviously driving the air con pump saps a lot of power.

I'm not sure, but the Oz spec machines may have had alternative emissions requirements to Europe, which meant further compromises on power had to be made, in order to meet them.