Alfa Pages Forum Index Alfa Pages
A forum for help with the Alfasud And Alfa 33

1.7 16V tuning advice???....

Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Alfa Pages Forum Index -> Motorsport, Racing & Trackdays
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Knight

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:38 am    Post subject: 1.7 16V tuning advice???.... Reply with quote

I have just bought a Kit car, which has a rear mounted 1.5 Alfa-sud engine on twin carbs.....I think its got about 90-100bhp.....my intention is to aquire and tune a 1.7 16V engine, I am new to Alfas and the people who offer the tuning parts, your advice would be much appreciated:-

100bhp/litre is quite achievable on a 16v 4cyl engine so I'm aiming for 170Bhp at around 7000rpm...or possibly more, and I would like to do this on carbs - not injection.

Will a set of 40's from a 1.7 8v be up to the job or 170Bhp?

Are aftermarket manifolds available to mount carbs on the 16v heads, or do you think a set of 8v manifolds could be welded up and modified to fit?

What Cams, pistons and con-rods are available for the 16v off the shelf?....I'm told junking the hydraulic tappets is the done thing!

Who sells performance/race exhaust systems for the 33 1.7 16v?.....I will need the manifold system only, and make my own back section to suit my kit-car.

Is anyone generally reccomended to port the cylinder heads???....or offer an exchange service, contact details would be handy!

any advice will be much appreciated, e-mail me on stephen_knight@eea.co.uk or call me on 0787 9427945 mobile

cheers

stephen
Matt Stolton
Alfa Sprint

PostPosted: Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:14 pm    Post subject: 16V on throttle bodies.... Reply with quote

Much as i am the first to sing the praises of carbs, when it comes to the 16V, I would stick with the throttle bodies and ECU/injection that comes with them.